Science in Color
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hello I'm Gina Poe

Go down

Hello I'm Gina Poe Empty Hello I'm Gina Poe

Post by ginapoe Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:36 pm

Hello everyone. Thank you Veronica, for inviting me to this website forum.
I'm a professor at UCLA in the field of neuroscience studying the mechanisms whereby sleep serves learning and memory. Over the past 20 years my lab has discovered the electrophysiological and neurochemical secret ingredients allowing REM sleep and the transition to REM sleep (called stage 2 non-REM sleep) are the times of maximum neural plasticity underlying learning and changing your min. They are the only times when plasticity can go both ways, both to strengthen memories and to weaken their foundations in a memory-specific, circuit-specific manner. Waking serves to acquire new memories and slow wave sleep to stabilize such memories via protein synthesis and the conversion from short term to long term potentiation, but the unique neurochemical environments of the dreaming states allow the kinds of bidirectional plasticity and communications between brain regions that allow our memories to be altered when necessary (.e.g in light of new information) which also allows new insights to be gained. We are more recently beginning to explore what happens to sleep and these re-learnign mechanisms after exposure to traumatic stressor capable of producing post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).